Ban Johnson Awards for KC Baseball: Tuesday Night Ceremony


Ban Johnson League Award winners for 2021 include, top row left to right, Hustle Award winner Trever Guzzo, MVP Josh Patrick and top pitcher Luqman Ali; Bottom row, left to right, Hall of Fame inductee Ban Johnson, Neil Harwell, and outfielder Joe Daneff. In the lower right photo is the Ban Johnson plaque in the National Baseball Hall of Fame.


The Ban Johnson Collegiate Baseball League honored its best and brightest at an annual awards banquet held Tuesday night at the Marriott Overland Park hotel.

Founded in 1927, the Ban Johnson Baseball League consists of area college players on nine teams that play throughout the Kansas City area.

A highlight of each season is the annual All-Star Game hosted by the Royals at Kauffman Stadium. David Cone, Rick Sutcliffe and Frank White are among Ban Johnson alumni who have progressed to exceptional professional careers.

Here is the recap of this year’s winners:

Ban Johnson Legends infielder Josh Patrick, Lester Milgram MVP: Also 2021 Bob Allison’s Offensive Player of the Year, Patrick finished with an average of .469, five homers and 31 RBIs to win the triple crown. He also had a slugging percentage of 1,000 and 1,531 OPS.

His coach, Adam Clay, said, “Josh was the MVP because of his leadership and the way he played the game. He was a strong offensive player because of his field selection ability. He waited for his pitch and made the most of it.

The Truman High graduate attends Crowder College and is committed to UNC Charlotte.

Trever Guzzo, outfielder of the Creche Innovations Stars, Hustle Award: According to manager Kyle Clifton, “He showed up every day and wanted to start every game. He always offered and was ready to do what the team needed to be successful. The Park Hill High product attends Park University.

Luqman Ali, Milgram Mustangs LHP, Rick Sutcliffe Pitcher of the Year: He finished 4-0, was second in the league with a WHIP of 1.17 and third in the league with an opposing batting average of 0.184. “He’s going up the hill and throwing strikes,” manager Kevin Shaw said. “He’s a team builder, encouraging the whole team. The Raytown High graduate attended Pratt Community College.

Joe Daneff, Creche Innovations Stars shortstop, Frank White Award for Fielding Excellence: Manager Kyle Clifton said: “He was our most crucial defender this year with several double plays and dives to take points.” The Park Hill High graduate attends Dodge City Community College and is committed to Emporia State University.

BJ Raiders, led by repeat league champion Jake Bradshaw: The Raiders become one of 11 teams inducted into Ban Johnson’s Hall of Fame, which honors clubs with at least two consecutive championships.

Neil Harwell, 45th Inductee into Ban Johnson’s Hall of Fame: A two-time star for the Milgram team from 1977 to 1980 and a member of the 1980 championship team, Harwell also hosted major league events. His career in sports management and broadcasting includes stints as Vice President / General Manager of Time Warner Cable for Advertising Sales, Co-Founder / General Manager of Metro Sports, Vice President / General Manager of Network of Royals Sports television; co-founder / main partner of Niles Media Group and Managing Director of LTN Niles Media Division.

It has broadcast play-by-plays for baseball, basketball and soccer, including UMKC basketball and the MIAA network.

Kansas City Star Stories

Source link

Comments are closed.