City of Portsmouth Sunday League welcomes large number of new clubs for 2021/22 season

AFC Trades (Pink) rose three divisions after winning the City of Portsmouth Sunday League Division 5 title.  Photo: Chris Moorhouse

AFC Trades (Pink) rose three divisions after winning the City of Portsmouth Sunday League Division 5 title. Photo: Chris Moorhouse

Clubs have received a constitution for the six-division structure and have until June 29 to vote on whether to accept it.

There were 50 clubs competing in the CopSL when football resumed in early April after the lockdown. But there are 72 clubs registered in the constitution for next season.

It seems likely, however, that some of these teams will not play in 2021/22 – Jameson Arms is adamant they have folded and it is believed that AFC Leigh Park, which has also been placed in Division 1 for next season, also stopped.

Register now to our daily newsletter

The newsletter i cut through the noise

One of the 22 new teams, Meon, has been provisionally placed in the second tier while new boys Bransbury, Falcon, Mother Shipton, Portchester Royals and Seagull Reserves are in Division 3.

Horndean is unhappy to have been ‘promoted’ from two divisions to Division 3, having finished 14 points behind Division 5 champions AFC Trades – who were raised from three divisions – in 2020/21.

Elsewhere, Jubilee – last season’s runaway Division 6 champions – also rose three divisions. A new Jubilee Reserves team, meanwhile, has been placed in Division 4.

Friends Fighting Cancer will field a third team while Fratton Trades will field four teams.

The Waterlooville Wanderers have entered two new teams, while Bedhampton Village, AFC Eastney and AFC Fairfields have introduced reserve teams.

Fleur De Lys will field a second team – an Under 23 team – in 2021/22.

Constitution proposal 2021/22

Division 1: AFC Leigh Park, AFC Portchester, AFC Southdown, Freehouse, FFC, Jameson Arms, North End Cosmos, Purbrook, Seagull, Wicor Mill.

Section 2: AFC Bedhampton Village, AFC Trades, Cosham Trades, Fleur De Lys, Freehouse Reserves, FFC Reserves, Meon, Old Boys, Samba, Shelford, Southsea United, Wicor Mill.

Section 3: AFC Copnor, AFC Cross Keys, Bransbury Wanderers, Falcon, Fratton Trades, Horndean, Jubilee, Mother Shipton, North End Lions, Portchester Royals, Seagull Reserves, Waterlooville Wanderers.

Section 4: AFC Bedhampton Village Reserves, AFC Lakeside Refit, AFC Solent, Co-op Dragons, Cross Keys, Fleur De Lys U23, Fratton Trades Reserves, FFC A, Jubilee Reserves, Prince of Wales, Shepherds Crook, Watersedge Park.

Section 5: ACFC, AFC Eastney, AFC Fairfields, AFC Tamworth, Al’s Bar, Co-op Dragons Reserves, Fenix, Fratton Trades A, Freehouse A, Horndean Hawks, Saturn Royale, Southletico, Waterlooville Wanderers Reserves.

Section 6: AFC Eastney Reserves, AFC Fairfields Reserves, AFC Prospect Farm Rangers, British Queen, Fire Dragons, Fratton Trades B, Freehouse B, Hatton Rovers, Horndean Reserves, King George Rovers, Milton Park Rangers, Padnell Rovers, Pelham Arms.

Comments are closed.