Gargi Banerjee named manager of Indian women’s team for Australia series

Subhadeep Ghosh will likely replace Abhay Sharma as the Indian women’s team field coach.

Gargi Banerjee. (Photo source: Twitter)

Old India Versatile Gargi Banerjee has been appointed team manager for the India All-Format Tour in Australia. She now succeeds Rajkuvardevi Gaekwad, who was the team manager of the last series against England. Banerjee has a solid reputation and experience having represented India for 38 matches in both formats. Then, the versatile has also long served as national coach.

Currently, the 60-year-old is part of the Cricket Association of Bengal Apex Council and will soon join the Indian team in Bengaluru. Apart from the nomination of Banerjee, the Indian women’s team will also replace field coach Abhay Sharma.

If ESPNcricinfo reports are to be believed, then Sharma will not be in charge of the team during the Australia tour. Subhadeep Ghosh will likely travel with the team as a defensive coach. Ghosh has represented the railways and Assam and has good visibility to his credit. Outgoing batting coach Shiv Sunder Das has managed to retain his position for the time being.

Interestingly, Indian batsmen struggled against England’s quality bowling, especially in ODI and T20I. But with a short game between tours, Das can work with the team and hope for better performance from Down Under hitters.

India are likely to announce the squad this week and the home group in the England series will likely be the same.

Indian women get ready to play their first test match with a pink ball

The team will leave for Australia on August 29 and will undergo a mandatory 14-day quarantine in Australia. First, the teams will play three ODIs which will start on September 19 at North Sydney Oval. After that, the teams will travel to the Junction Oval to play the remaining two ODIs on September 22 and 24.

Next, the team will play a unique historic pink ball test in Perth. This is the first time that the Women in Blue will take part in the historic day-night test match which kicks off on September 30. Australia played their first game at the 2017 Ashes. After the single test, Australia and India will feature in three T20Is starting October 7th.

Comments are closed.