How a DRS call helped Kane Williamson and SRH

One of the best bowling attacks in the IPL only managed to take two wickets against Sunrisers Hyderabad and a misjudgment contributed to that.

Kane Williamson should have been out for two in the very first over in the Sunrisers chase but the Gujarat Titans failed to review.

The fourth ball from Mohammed Shami’s first over skidded off the box and hit the pads, as Williamson looked quite adjacent. The on-court umpire called off the front leg call and for Hardik Pandya and company the issue was whether there was an inside edge. There was a long conversation and Titans wicketkeeper Matthew Wade looked eager to head upstairs. But Shami didn’t look very convinced and Pandya was a bit reluctant.

Williamson was given a reprieve, as the DRS showed three reds, with no inside edge and the ball hit the top of the middle. The Sunrisers captain then scored a 57 from 46 in his side’s eight-wicket win.

During the post-match press conference, Rashid Khan was asked about the error. The Titans leg spinner defended his skipper, however. “In the field you only get 10 to 15 seconds. It is not easy. Moreover, in LBW decisions, it is mainly about the wicketkeeper and the pitcher. The captain didn’t play a big role in that. But we will try to learn from our mistakes,” Rashid said.

As former Indian flyhalf Aakash Chopra said, it was also a mistake by the referee on the pitch. “Who would have thought that arguably the best bowling attack in the IPL would only get two wickets in a game? Also, while we blame the field team for not taking the exam against Kane…he should have been distributed in the first place,” he tweeted.

Meanwhile, Sunrisers head coach Tom Moody has advised that the versatile Washington Sundar has suffered a cleft right hand and could be out for a week.

Comments are closed.