Pakistan declare squad for test series against South Africa

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) unveiled its 20-man squad for the Test series against South Africa on Thursday.

According to national cricket team head coach Mohammad Waseem, who addressed a press conference in Rawalpindi on Thursday, Babar Azam will lead the team and Mohammad Rizwan will serve as vice-captain.

Pakistan national cricket team. Image: Twitter

Tabish Khan and Agha Salman included in Pakistan test squad

Other players in the team include Mohammad Nawaz, Nauman Ali, Sajid Khan, Hassan Ali, Haris Rauf and Tabish Khan in addition to Abid Ali, Imran Butt, Azhar Ali, Fawad Alam, Sarfraz Ahmed, Faheem Ashraf, Yasir Shah, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Abdullah Shafique, Agha Salman, Saud Shakeel and Kamran Ghulam.

Pakistan declare squad for test series against South Africa

The head coach claimed that when selecting the team, the players’ past performances were taken into account. He claimed that the players’ basic contracts were determined after taking into account their roster and conditioning.

Tabish Khan.  (Credits: Twitter)
Tabish Khan. (Credits: Twitter)

The men’s central contract lists for 2022-23 have already been released by the Pakistan Cricket Board and came into effect on Friday, July 1. The PCB added four more players to the emerging category and for the first time separated red and white ball contracts. As a result, a total of 33 players, 13 more than the previous season, signed contracts for the following 12 months.

Red ball and white ball contracts have been awarded to all-format Pakistan captain Babar Azam, Hasan Ali, Imam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Rizwan and Shaheen Shah Afridi.

Azhar Ali moves to Category A contract

Azhar Ali, one of ten players who got red ball contracts, was promoted to Category A, while Naseem Shah, Abdullah Shafique and Saud Shakeel all got Category C contracts for the first time. Saud Shakeel was classified in category D.

Azhar Ali
Azhar Ali (Image credit: Twitter)

In the emerging category, the PCB has increased the number of players from three to seven as part of its goal to support, nurture and reward up-and-coming domestic artists. Ali Usman, Haseebullah, Kamran Ghulam, Mohammad Haris, Mohammad Huraira, Qasim Akram and Salman Ali Agha are the emerging category athletes.

Read also : IND vs ENG: ‘He will be the player to watch’ – Zaheer Khan backs Jasprit Bumrah to do well as captain in fifth Test against England

Comments are closed.